Is the value of a college degree decreasing (need opinions from past and presents college students)? related questions

Answers
Asked by
Updated
Is the value of a college degree decreasing (need opinions from past and presents college students)?0janet!2012-11-05 09:27:56
i recently transferred to my college from a local cc where i was at for a year. i am shocked to say that students at my local cc seem to be more academically focused and driven than kids on my current campus. what im asking is; is the increasing number of students attending college lowering the merit which a typical bachelors degree holds. the reason i am asking this because i am shocked at the type of kids there are at this school. the typical d-bag that wears cargo shorts, nike shoes, and aeropostale. they all seem to major in business or psychology. kids who look like they couldnt spell their names. idk, i guess i am just frustrated from the first few days of school. i guess i am just venting because i hate these stupid over bearing macho frat boy types who DONT deserve to be here. OPINIONS?
All of the students at a college are majoring in psychology, business, or both. 73% of the students are ps?2not planning 2 tell u2012-10-21 13:03:03
All university students are majoring in psychology , business, or both. 73% of the students are psychology students and 62 % are over business . If there are 200 students , how many of them are majoring in psychology and business?
College students: about how many college credits were directly related to your major?2Tatianna2012-10-19 10:54:03
For me , the 44 credits of 128. I am psychology .
College or military -- Need second opinions?5Sakura2012-10-13 09:43:04
I'm at the point in my life where I have to get my stuff together. I have 22 years , still lives with his parents , just lost my job and car , and basically just have had better days . I am intelligent and hard working , but I have not found what I want to do with my life , and I refuse to end up like a lot of people working a dead end job for not much . I have no other ambition than that, just not sure which direction to take . I'm trying to go to college this fall , but the chances of that are looking slim because of money. If I do, I'm interested in psychology . I love psychology and I can say I have a passion for it , and I agree that I should get at least a master's degree or better to do anything with it . But I 'm also scared after graduating with all that money / time , it would not be better than I am now . I am also considering the military . I really just need to start doing something with my life , and I 'm at the point where I can not keep waiting for something . Military is what you make of it , and although it is not something that would be especially excited , not a bad way to pass the time . Housing, job security , school late as possible , a stable income . I love my country and not afraid to serve, but it is something that I love , if that makes any sense . I've heard a lot about how it has to be very patriotic super to succeed in the military. I have a brother step in the Air Force, and has done well for himself . I really dont know what to do with myself at this time , and I do not want to end up a failure. Any help / opinions would be greatly appreciated , serious answers only. Thank you !
College option/opinions needed please-?0Kavin2012-10-24 10:42:44
Okay, so I'll be getting a psychology degree Associates based in late December . So I have to go to a school that has a Type 73 certification and a master's degree in psychology . Huge problem though , I have no idea how I will pay for it . The school was thinking of a $ 17,000 a semester. MedlinePlus MedlinePlus I have to pay out of my own pocket . Student loans do not accept me . I have tried five times and I said no, because they are watching my parents credit score . And that's terrible. I can not even get $ 1,000 I tried! My brother has screwed me big time was co - signed with my parents and took $ 90,000 and now my parents are willing to pay everything in full, but still they messed up because not even graduate . MedlinePlus MedlinePlus I can not get financial aid because my mom makes $ 135,000 a year and that's a lot of money even though their accounts are in addition to ... $ 200,000 in less than one year . MedlinePlus MedlinePlus So no student loans, no financial assistance . What I can do? Should I choose a different career and have to go to school or what? I'm so stressed . : ( I 'm a good student also averaged B.
Can you help me narrow down my college plan a little from here? Opinions/suggestions?0Do2012-10-21 05:35:36
I attend a liberal arts college smallest in the Midwest and am a sophomore. Today I think I will get more and social sciences (psychology, sociology, political science) and I'm debating a double major in Spanish. I think the Spanish would be great, because I want a career that helps people and we have a growing Hispanic population. However, I have heard a lot higher than the Spanish are not necessarily so great because the flow is the key, that a college degree does not necessarily give. Reviews? MedlinePlus MedlinePlus Also, I love working with people and helping people. I grew up as a volunteer all my life and help people. Sounds silly, but I'm fascinated by shows like Criminal Minds involving the study of people. I love psychology. Now - I was not thinking about my chances of going to graduate school until recently and I've been curious about what I could get. What is the opinion of the guys "to go for another 2 years to get a Masters in Social Work? I can do that without a bachelor's degree in social work right? MedlinePlus MedlinePlus I grew up on a large farm and am interested in Ag, but never just take that path ... Has anyone gotten Ag titles and want to share their college / career so far? MedlinePlus MedlinePlus I never liked math, science was dubious, and I have pretty good writing skills (not in this labyrinthine though lol). Given all this, does anyone have any recommendations for further looking into college? I feel like a masters is as long as I really want to go. I am not fond of the university, as it is haha. MedlinePlus MedlinePlus I know this is a lot of ideas of order, if you take it apart and respond to what you know will appreciate it. I'm at a loss of ideas and have a hard time figuring things out. I talked to the teachers here and now I'm trying to reduce my plan a little more before returning them. Thank you all soooooo much.
College Students, what is your major?0Lewi2012-10-24 12:20:20
mine is forensic psychology . :)
Need help from college graduates or students?0Lauren needs help!!!!!2012-10-05 08:23:30
I've heard that a degree in psychology will not help much unless you are a master . So is there any way to study psychology , but doing something else that way I can start earning money well with a BA?
College students, do you answer Q's in your major?6kb2012-10-22 04:06:03
I do not. Every time you check out psychology is mostly people who want their dreams interpenetrate .
Why do PhD students have to teach college courses?0Jordi2012-11-04 12:17:02
Just wondering, because I want to eventually get my PhD in Psychology, but I don't want to teach... at ALL. I don't plan on being a Professor, so I don't see the point of being of me teaching a class.... so yeah, just wondering....
What's the best jobs for college students in Texas?0dexter2012-10-20 12:47:10
Hi , so I'm looking for a job that pays well and have some kind of emotion in addition to working in fast food . MedlinePlus So far I am a full time student means that the only jobs that I can work in night work would have to be :/ MedlinePlus Pleases help and I 'm in psychology
Homeschooled students can't go to college in Ohio?!?2Jay2012-10-26 18:32:03
Needed an English credit to graduate in my last year of high school , when my parents , in a dispute with the school , decided to yank all their children from public schools and home schooling with us . They chose the American School program . I already had 8 credits in history / civics, and had completed Biology and Psychology with B , but American School forced me to take ( and my parents pay ) U.S. Government , Biology and Psychology classes . I graduated with a 3.72 average , scored a 1569 on the SAT , scored a 26 on the ACT , and scored 1800 on the practice LSAT . The problem now ? When trying to enroll in a degree program with the University of Phoenix , I say that Ohio does not recognize the diploma and the American School is accredited ! Anyone know if there is any truth to this? Meanwhile, I 'm going with the program Worldcampus Penn State , since apparently PA recognize my diploma and American School is accredited there.

Ask New Question  

  • You are not logged in,answer will be Anonymous.Set Nickname | Sign In | Sign Up
  • tags separate by ','
  • Shortcuts:Ctrl+Enter

Latest Questions